Re: I Embrace My Inner Peacock

Finally, finally, finally, it looks like my peacock costume is coming together. I found a peacock feather printed cotton at a local quilt store that I really liked (about $8.00/yd) and bought everything they had left on the bolt. I won a custom made bellydance tassel belt at a silent auction one of the local troupes put on so I’m going to have Liz, my seamstress, make part of the fabric into a belt. Depending on how much is left over, I’m thinking about having the rest made into a short-sleeved, knee-length Ghawazee jacket that I could wear over a variety of shifts.

Peacock Fabric Example

This is the exact same fabric I found at my local quilt shop, shown here made into a mouse pad. It’s a Carrie Miller print and comes in about six different colors, but I thought the kelly green background (see in photo) was the most striking. (Image from Etsy).

Right now, I’m in designer heaven, rummaging through my stash of trims and fabrics to see what goes with a kelly green peacock print. I’ve got some electric blue sequins, some gold and blue metallic trim, and some coin trim with small gold coins.

More information as the project develops down the line.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nicki bond
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 15:22:13

    hi there HELP!!!!!!!!!!we have a peacock wedding theme for our wedding soooooo excited about colours x!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i need the carrie miller print fabric that u used on the internet site for my wedding cravats can u recommend stockists as i desperate even e mailed lady herself!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please help my husband to be has his heart set on it and i have searched everywhere

    Reply

  2. civilservant
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 00:45:49

    I e-mailed Nicki back privately, but for you other brides out there who are looking to do a non-traditional themed wedding, I highly recommend the site Offbeat Bride (http://www.offbeatbride.com). There’s a forum where prospective newly-weds can share tips and ask questions. Most importantly there are lots and lots of cool photos covering every aspect of weddings from dresses to cakes and decorations. Check them out if you are considering nuptials in the near future.

    Reply

Leave a comment